ElysianConfusion

September 16, 2009

Coupon Confusion

Filed under: family,money — by elysianconfusion @ 4:07 pm

I don’t know if I’m missing some major savings in my life. In the last few weeks, I’ve heard of at least two articles (one on NPR and the other in the local paper) on how you can pay for only 10% or 20% of your total grocery bill by using coupons.

We shop a lot at Trader Joe’s and BJ’s; I feel like the local supermarkets (Hannaford, Stop & Shop) are outrageously priced. We also buy at local farm stands and have a garden. I’m happy to use BJ’s coupons when possible and I always look at them. Trader Joe’s doesn’t offer them (that I know of, but a lot of their prices are better anyway and generally have fewer additives and I can read all the ingredients without a dictionary).

I can’t see how you can save so much using coupons unless you’re buying processed foods. I try not to buy those. I buy fresh fruit, vegetables, milk, cheese, eggs, fish, meat. I buy things on sale and freeze them. I have been known to buy my kids Trader Joe’s brand cereal bars and pretzels. Given that this is how I shop, could I really cut my grocery budget by clipping coupons? I would love to know. What exactly are people buying when they save so much on groceries? And can it be accomplished by a working mom?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

